President Trump

President Trump

Another one topic that we were asked to discuss on our blogs was Election Day. What a day it was. I think i’ll remember the feeling of gloom that I felt everywhere I went that day for awhile. I don’t think I really have to explain what happened. Donald Trump shocked the world and won the contest that grants him the job of the President of The United States, therefore making him the most powerful man on the planet. I can remember the smiles on everyones face as if it was all a joke when hearing his name at the beginning of the primaries. For example, I distinctly remember a text message from my girlfriend that read “Donald Trump is running for President, that’s why I don’t give a shit about politics.” I think a lot of people are not realizing the extent of what a fucking crazy point in history we are currently watching unfold. I don’t see a scenario where a history professor many years from now casually glosses over this election and what happens going forward.

Trump shot right out the gate ranting about china and his realistic ideas on immigration. The crazier he got with it, the more we talked about and him and the more the media covered him. During the republican primaries he one by one took out his opponents assigning them the following nicknames. 1 for 38 Kasich, low energy Jeb, little Marco and lying Ted. He even accused Ted Cruz’s father of having a part in the JFK assassination. While all that went on tragic terror attacks and the issue of police brutality that led to the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement pushed partisanship and identity politics to the extreme. Then we got to the general election. Russia got involved, hacker group Wikileaks hacked the Democratic National Committee exposing Hillary Clinton for more corruption (didn’t think that was possible), false information spread all over the internet and of course pussygate.

I very much did not like Donald Trump throughout the election. I don’t think anything he said had any substance, his rhetoric was hateful and I don’t think its a coincidence that racists love him. He is clearly an egomaniac and a narcissist to a clinical point. If I ever found myself talking to someone who talked like Donald Trump I would look to the sky and pray for a large object to fall exactly where that person stood. His supporters really liked the fact that he was not previously a politician and did not sound like one. This would normally would be something I would appreciate too but not in this case. Donald Trump in my eyes somehow manages to sound worse than a politician. He sounds like someone who has no idea what they’re are talking about. He will say the same sentence three times to buy himself more time to think about what he is going to say. I think a lot of the things he says sound so crazy because he’ll start talking like a shot out of a cannon and then has to scramble to finish the thought he started because what he originally said was so ridiculous. I also reject the common claim now that he is going to “drain the swamp.” His rumored cabinet candidates include classic establishment republicans like Rudy Giuliani and Chris Christie who epitomizes Republican corruption.

I briefly just summarized my most major issues with President Donald Trump but I would now like to present a more optimistic route and leave you with some food for thought. I think this election completed the merger between entertainment and politics. America is done with the classic politician. Now most people immediately write this off as a negative thing that now most presidential candidates will be celebrities. It doesn’t help that the first one they think of is Kanye West. But is it that crazy? Can an assortment of candidates from different fields of business, the sciences and the arts be worse than politicians who at this point are basically professional bribe takers. Just maybe this is exactly the kind of transformation we need to expand ideas, diversify thought and get rid of the current two party system. Will it happen? I don’t know. But what I do know is that these next four years are going to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

